Great Britain receive 2019 Davis Cup wild card along with Argentina

Former winners Great Britain and Argentina have been given wild cards into next year's revamped Davis Cup and will not have to play a qualifier in February.

Following the decision by the governing body, Britain - who won the title in 2015 and defeated Uzbekistan in Glasgow earlier this month - will now not need to compete in the qualifying round.

They will join 16 other teams in the finals of the competition in November 2019, including 2018 semi-finalists Croatia, France, Spain and the United States, which will be staged in Lille or Madrid from November 18 to 24.

The line-up will be completed by the 12 winners from qualifiers being held in February.

Great Britain and Argentina have received the wild cards


There will be six groups of three teams competing in a round-robin format, with the ties featuring two singles matches and one doubles rubber, all best-of-three tie-break sets.

Group winners will advance to knockout stages along with the next two best-ranked nations.

Great Britain Davis Cup captain Leon Smith said: "Our Davis Cup record over the last few years is something we are all very proud of, and our ranking amongst the top five nations in the world shows our commitment to the competition.

"We are looking forward to being amongst the best of the best next year, creating more memories and inspiring our fans to get behind us and the team as we look to win the competition."

Lawn Tennis Association chief executive Scott Lloyd added:

France will be defending their Davis Cup title when they take on Croatia in Lille


"Although we didn't vote for the Davis Cup reforms, we have always said we will support the ITF whatever the outcome of the vote and it is our job now to get behind the competition and make it a success."

The last of the finals to be staged under the traditional format will see France attempting to defend their crown against Croatia in Lille on November 23-25.

Adidas Logo.png